The Synod of Alberta and the Territories is currently divided into five areas. Each of these area is headed by an elected Area Dean, which are listed below.

New in 2017 was the formation of Area Leadership Teams which were described and elaborated upon at the 2017 Fall Area Gatherings.

The role of the Area Dean is to assist the Bishop in the duties of installations and pastoral care of the ministers and congregations. The Deans and the Bishop meet at least once a year for spiritual renewal and to discuss programs, plans and concerns affecting Areas in the Synod.

Area Deans:
Updated February 2019

Northern Area
Dean: Rev. Trish Schmermund 

Office (780) 416-9594
Email: contact me

Southern Area
Dean: Rev. Jeff Decelle

Office: (403) 527-7171
Email: contact me

Southwestern Area
Dean: Rev. Kevin Powell
Office: (403) 242-4544
Email: contact me

West Central Area
Dean: Rev. Matt Lyseng
Office: (780) 986-2688
Email: contact me

East Central Area
Dean: Rev. Julianna Wehrfritz-Hanson

Office: (780) 678-5330
Email: contact me