Synod Office Staff

Synod of Alberta and the Territories
10014 – 81 Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 1W8

Phone: 780 439-2636
Toll-Free: 866-430-2636
General Inquiries

The Synod is served by three full-time staff, three part-time staff, and about thirty or more volunteers serving through various Ministry Teams (program committees) and Synod Council Committees.

Synod office hours; Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. Closed Fridays in July and August, as well as all Statutory holidays.


The Rev. Dr. Larry Kochendorfer

Biography Bishop Larry

Contact Me


The Rev. Prema Samuel 
Assistant to the Bishop for Congregational Life

Biography for Rev. Prema Samuel

Contact Me



Marla Berg
Office Administrator

Contact Me


Sheryl Burry
Bookkeeper/Accounting (part-time)

Contact Me




Emma Berg
Communications Coordinator (part-time)

Contact me




Wendy Grosfield
ABT Editor – Canada Lutheran (part-time, deployed)

Contact me



Other Staff:

The Rev. Garth Wehrfritz-Hanson – Consultant Related to Church Property and Dissolution of Congregations (including active cemeteries)

Deacon Dr. Faith Nostbakken – Northern Ecumenical Officer

The Rev. Daranne Harris – Southern Ecumenical Officer

The Rev. Gary Nickel – Synod Necrologist/Archivist


Spirit -Led Leadership                Hope-Filled Discipleship              

Innovative Tradition           Collaborative Partnerships