Area Leadership Teams

Areas and Area Leadership Teams

The Synod of Alberta and the Territories is divided into five Areas. The Council of the ABT Synod, in consultation with the Bishop, appoints an Area Leadership Team (ALT) for each Area based on gifts for leadership. Area Leadership Teams shall consist of one youth (up to thirty years of age), two Lay and two Rostered leaders (one of whom is appointed Area Dean) and a treasurer who may or may not be a member of the ALT.

The role of the Area Leadership Team is to:

  • Develop a discerning, learning community within the Area who seek to follow where God leads
  • Strive to be an expression and catalyst of this Synod’s Mission Priorities in the Area
  • Encourage and equip congregations and ministries within the Area to collaborate and implement the mission priorities of this Synod
  • Annually arrange, together with Synod Staff, for continuing education opportunities for Rostered and Lay leaders to support and encourage learning and collaborative Area ministries
  • Encourage networking and mutual support among Rostered and Lay leaders
  • Provide pastoral support to Area Rostered Ministers as required
  • Maintain contact with the Bishop of this Synod
  • Serve as the Bishop’s representative, as requested, at installations, assisting with the call process, and conducting exit interviews
  • Provide recommendations to the Bishop of this Synod and Synod Council regarding the appointment of ALT members

The role of the Area Dean is to assist the Bishop in the duties of installations and pastoral care of the Rostered Ministers,  Congregations and Specialized Ministries. The Deans and the Bishop meet at least once a year for spiritual renewal and to discuss programs, plans and concerns affecting Areas in the Synod.


Northern Area (Includes Congregations in Alberta Beach,  Athabasca, Cold Lake, Edmonton, Edson, Grande Prairie, Hinton, Jasper, La Glace,  Lac La Biche, Mystery Lake, Seba Beach, Sherwood Park, Slave Lake, Spruce Grove, Stony Plain, Sturgeon County, Westlock, Whitehorse, Woking, and Yellowknife)

Colour of Pins within ABT Synod Lutheran Church Google Map: Purple

Dean: The Rev. Trish Schmermund
Office (780) 434-4012
Email: contact me


Southern Area (Includes Congregations in Brooks, Burtsall{SK}, Cereal, Enchant, Hanna, Hilda, Jenner, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat, Milo, Rolling Hills, Standard and Tilley)

Colour of Pins within ABT Synod Lutheran Church Google Map: Ruby

Dean: The Rev. Jeff Decelle
Office: (403) 527-7171
Email: contact me


Southwestern Area (Includes Congregations in Airdrie, Calgary, High River, Okotoks, and Stavely)

Colour of Pins within ABT Synod Lutheran Church Google Map: Yellow

Dean: The Rev. Kevin Powell
Office: (403) 242-4544
Email: contact me


West Central Area (Includes Congregations in Bentley, Clive, Innisfail, Leduc, Leduc County, Millet, Olds, Red Deer, Rocky Mountain House, Rolly View, Sundre, Thorsby and Wetaskiwin)

Colour of Pins within ABT Synod Lutheran Church Google Map: Light Blue

Dean: The Rev. Matt Lyseng
Office: (780) 986-2688
Email: contact me


East Central Area (Includes Congregations in Armena, Bashaw, Bawlf, Camrose, Czar, Edberg, Forestburg, Hay Lakes, Hughenden, Lougheed, New Norway, New Sarepta, Provost and Ryley)

Colour of Pins within ABT Synod Lutheran Church Google Map: Green

Dean: The Rev. Julianna Wehrfritz-Hanson
Office: (780) 678-5330
Email: contact me