Student Resources

Becoming a Pastor/Diaconal Minister

A Call to Work in the Church

If you sense that God is calling you to serve the Church in a very intentional way, then you may want to consider becoming a pastor or a diaconal minister. From the time you act on these intentions and apply to become a ministry candidate, you are guided in the process by a member of the Committee for Theological Education and Leadership.

For more information, please go to our Candidacy page see our links below where you will find information to assist you with:

  • help as you discern if this call is for you;
  • identifying the criteria required before beginning the seminary training;
  • contact information for those who assist you in the process;
  • opportunities to support those who are in training for the ministry;

Lutheran Theological Seminary- Saskatoon

The Lutheran Theological Seminary is affiliated with the University of Saskatchewan and is a member of the Saskatoon Theological Union, a federation of three theological colleges on the campus of the University: Emmanuel and St. Chad (Anglican), LTS, and St. Andre’s (United Church of Canada). It is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).


Programs Offered:
Master of Divinity
Bachelor of Theology
Master of Theological Studies
Master of Sacred Theology
Lutheran Year Studies

Dormitory facilities available for single students attending the Seminary or the University of Saskatchewan.

Owned and operated by four synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC): British Columbia, Alberta and the Territories, Saskatchewan and Manitoba/Northwestern Ontario.

For further information write:
Lutheran Theological Seminary
114 Seminary Crescent
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0X3

Phone: 306-966-7850
Fax: 306-966-7852
Web Site:


  1. The Bishop Stephen P. Kristenson Seminarian Endowment Fund was established in 2006 by the Synod of Alberta and the Territories (“the Synod”) to celebrate the ministry of Bishop Stephen P. Kristenson, Bishop of the Synod from 1994 to 2006. In his twelve years of service as Bishop, he and his wife Jane, contributed significantly to the life of the Synod especially in the area of advanced administration, leadership in governance, and wise and dedicated pastoral oversight of the congregations. The purpose of this Fund is to assist those who are involved in seminary training leading to ordained and diaconal ministry.The Endowment Fund Program
    The Bishop Stephen P. Kristenson Seminarian Endowment Fund is directed and administered by the Executive Committee of Synod Council and managed by the Edmonton Community Foundation (“the Foundation”) as a named fund under the terms of a fund agreement between the Synod and the Foundation.The Fund seeks to make awards to Alberta students in pursuit of a vocation as an ordained or diaconal minister of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada. Awards will be made annually and will be based upon funds available from the income of the endowment. Recipients are eligible to re-apply in subsequent years while attending seminary on a full-time or part-time basis.

    The following general criteria will apply to awards:

    1. Recipients of awards are engaged in or beginning studies in pursuit of a vocation as an ordained or diaconal minister  at a seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.
    2. Recipients must be a member of a congregation of the Synod of Alberta and the Territories.
    3. Awards will be based upon –

    Christian character
    Financial need
    Academic achievement
    Vocational promise
    Participation in the church community

    4.  A photograph suitable for publication in the Alberta Synod section of the “Canada Lutheran” and written permission to publish this photo, if successful.
    5.  Applications will only be considered if all information required is complete.
    6.  The applications are due by January 1st and Sept 1st of the year in which the award is sought. No time extension is allowed.

    Awards will be granted twice yearly by the Synod Committee for Theological Education and Leadership (“CTEL”). CTEL shall receive the applications through the Synod office.  For further information regarding donations to the Fund or an application for funds, please call the Synod Office at (780) 439-2636, or click here: SOS information and application form